The Type Directors Club

For over 60 years the Type Directors Club has been the leading international organisation whose sole purpose is to support and promote excellence in typography wherever it’s found. The club was founded in 1946 by some of graphic design’s legendary pioneers, the TDC’s earliest membership included Aaron Burns, Freeman Craw, Louis Dorfsman, Gene Federico, Edward M. Gottschall, Herb Lubalin, Bradbury Thompson, and Hermann Zapf.


With this solid historical background, the club today represents the best of today’s type design and type use.

tcd annual 29

The TDC holds 2 yearly typographic competitions (design and typeface) whose winners are reproduced in our Typography Annual, as well as offering educational courses, student scholarships, monthly Type Salons and access to a comprehensive library at its Manhattan gallery/club space.

TDC members come from very diverse backgrounds but all have one thing in common — a love of type and typography.

Call for submissions

TDC55 & TDC2 2009: this year will be TDC’s fifty-fifth open Call for Entries in its international competition which recognizes excellence in the use of typography, calligraphy, handlettering and other letterforms. Deadline is December 19, 2008. For further details see the TDC’s competition page. And here are a few winners from the TDC 54. And here for the complete list of the TDC2 2008 winners.

Who would you pick?
footnote divider

Coming up

Fasten your seatbelts because I have a monster the week in type posting in the next couple of days, when I’ll also announce the very lucky winner of the Seb Lester poster competition.

previous: An interview with Seb Lester

next: the week in type — Zócalo

Typeface Categories

learn greek type desgin
learn greek type desgin
font deals of the week
fonts on tape